Beethoven: Complete Symphonies (Philippe Jordan) [3-Bluray ]


Tax excluded
Ludwig van Beethoven
Beethoven Complete Symphonies
3-Disc Blu-ray


  • Security policy Security policy
  • Delivery policy Delivery policy
  • Return policy Return policy

Product details

  • Actors:Ricarda Merbeth, Robert Dean Smith, Daniela Sindram, Guenther Groissboeck, Philippe Jordan
  • Directors: Reiner E. Moritz
  • Format: Box set, NTSC, Widescreen
  • Language: German
  • Subtitles: German, English, French, Korean
  • Dubbed: None
  • Region: All Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 3
  • Studio: Arthaus
  • Release Date: September 30, 2016
  • Run Time: 457 minutes

Editorial Reviews

This monumental release contains over 7 hours of music and bonus footage, and is a must-have for any serious Beethoven collector. All nine Beethoven Symphonies are recorded here by the Orchestra and Chorus of the Opera national de Paris, conducted by Philippe Jordan. Philippe Jordans young but traditionalist interpretation of these works brings to life the spirit of historical performance practice, which sets a new course in Beethoven interpretation. This production was made by the creators of the exceptionally successful Shostakovich cycle, which was released to critical applause. These performances have been filmed in the highest quality known on the market today. In addition to the symphonies, a special 52 minute feature documentary is included: Reiner E Moritzs Philippe Jordan- Zum Dirigieren Geboren (Born to Conduct).

Complete Symphonies

  • Symphony #1 in C Major, Op.21
  • Symphony #2 in D Major, Op.36
  • Symphony #3 in E Flat Major "Eroica", Op.55
  • Symphony #4 in B Flat Major, Op.60
  • Symphony #5 in C minor, Op.67
  • Symphony #6 in F Major "Pastoral", Op. 68
  • Symphony #7 in A Major, Op.92
  • Symphony #8 in F Major, Op.93
  • Symphony #9 in D minor, Op.125 *
* Ricarda Merbeth, soprano
* Daniela Sindram, mezzo-soprano
* Robert Dean Smith, tenor
* Günther Groissböck, bass
Chorus & Orchestra of the Paris Opera/Philippe Jordan
Recorded live at the Opéra Bastille, Paris, France: November 7, 2014 Nos. 1 & 3; December 14, 2014, Nos. 4 & 5; May 18, 2015, Nos. 6 & 8; July 13, 2015, No.9
Recorded live at the Palais Garnier, Paris, France: September 10, 2014, Nos. 2 & 7
Bonus Feature: Philippe Jordan - Born to Conduct
Arthaus Musik Blu-ray 109249 3 discs 405m + 52m (Bonus Feature) PCM Stereo DTS-HD Master Audio
1000 Items

13 other products in the same category: